Sauce Us a Follow

PHWA’s New Women’s Hockey Chapter to Select PHF’s Most Valuable Player

BOSTON, MA – (March 22, 2023) – The Premier Hockey Federation (PHF), in association with the Professional Hockey Writers Association (PHWA), has announced a new media partnership that includes the PHWA independently voting on an array of PHF annual awards. The partnership began with the introduction of a PHWA Women’s Hockey Chapter that includes 13 inaugural members who cast ballots to determine the PHF’s Most Valuable Player of the 2022-23 season.

“The growth of professional women’s hockey is accelerated with impactful collaborations and increased visibility in the media which makes this partnership with the PHWA a win for our sport,” said Reagan Carey, PHF Commissioner. “We’re proud that the PHWA has recognized a significant opportunity with the PHF and the thriving community of dedicated and talented women’s hockey contributors we’re grateful for. Their influence as part of our awards process is another example of trailblazing initiatives within the PHF and is an important step in the enhancement and amplification of these prestigious honors.”

The PHWA has independently voted on the biggest NHL Awards, including the Hart, Norris, Calder, Selke, Lady Byng, and Conn Smythe trophies, each season for more than six decades. The PHWA managed the PHF’s MVP voting process for 2023, and the partnership is expected to expand next season to include other awards that celebrate and honor annual excellence in the game. The PHWA will also have a seat at the table in helping shape the PHF’s media access policy in the near future.

“We are thrilled to witness the growth of women’s hockey, and we’re appreciative of the stability, resources, and leadership that the PHF has demonstrated,” said PHWA president Frank Seravalli. “We are excited to collaborate with the PHF and branch out into a league beyond the NHL for the first time in our organization’s 56-year history. It was time. Our newest members have poured their souls into covering the women’s game like a blanket, and we’re proud to bolster the premier women’s hockey writers on the planet with more support and resources to aid and enhance their coverage.”

Finalists for 2022-23 PHF MVP and other annual league awards will be announced in advance of the 2023 Isobel Cup Championship which takes place this Sunday, March 26 at Mullett Arena in Tempe, AZ between the Toronto Six and Minnesota Whitecaps. Award recipients will be announced individually over a short period following the final.

About the Professional Hockey Writers Association
Founded in 1967, the Professional Hockey Writers Association is dedicated to preserving the rights and improving the access for members of the North American-based media who cover hockey. The PHWA is comprised of approximately 300 dues-paying members in NHL and PHF markets who write about the sport for newspapers, magazines and online media.

About the Premier Hockey Federation
The PHF is the home of professional women’s hockey in North America. Established in 2015 as the National Women’s Hockey League, the NWHL rebranded to become the PHF in 2021 and provide opportunities for elite athletes to earn a living playing the game they love while fueling the continued growth of the sport. The league is made up of the Boston Pride, Buffalo Beauts, Connecticut Whale, Metropolitan Riveters, Minnesota Whitecaps, Montreal Force, and the Toronto Six who all compete annually for the Isobel Cup. As part of a two-year agreement with ESPN, live coverage of the 2022-23 and 2023-24 PHF seasons is available exclusively on ESPN+ in the United States, and provides international rights for games which includes TSN in Canada. For more information visit

Featured Image by;  Premier Hockey Federation (PHF)

Around the RinkLeaguesLocker TalkNewsNWHLPHFPro
In this article: #2022-23, #Awards, #MVP, #PHF, #PHWA, #PremierHockeyFederation, #ProfessionalWomensHockey, #ProHockey, #Womenshockey, grow the game, Hockey
Previous Post
Madison Willan makes her mark at Winter Universiade
Next Post
Official launch of the IIHF Inspire The Next women’s campaign