Sauce Us a Follow

EVENT: 2019 IIHF Women’s World Championship


2019 IIHF Women's World Championship

The 2019 IIHF Women’s World Championship will be running April 4-14 in Espoo, Finland.

Pool A:

United States





Pool B:




Czech Republic


The IIHF has the full tournament schedule here.

How to watch

If you’re lucky enough to be in Finland, you can purchase your tickets here.

If you’re in the U.S., The NHL Network will be broadcasting all Team USA games, along with select others:

Thu, Apr 4 Canada Switzerland 9:00 AM
USA Finland 12:30 PM
Sat, Apr 6 Canada USA 12:30 PM
Sun, Apr 7 USA Switzerland 12:30 PM
Tue, Apr 9 Russia USA 9:00 AM
Thu, Apr 11 TBD TBD 9:00 AM Quarterfinal
TBD TBD 12:30PM Quarterfinal
Sat, Apr 13 TBD TBD 9:00 AM Semifinal
TBD TBD 1:00 PM Semifinal
Sun, Apr 14 TBD TBD 9:00 AM Bronze Medal Game
TBD TBD 1:00 PM Gold Medal Game
Date Visitor Home Time ET Notes

If you’re in Canada, TSN will be broadcasting all Team Canada games, along with select others:

Tournament Details

  • This is the first year that the Women’s World Championship will have ten national teams competing in the tournament rather than eight.
  • No team has ever been able to knock Canada and the USA out of a first or second place finish as they are the only two teams to have won gold or silver at the IIHF Women’s World Championship. Finland has come close with 12 bronze medals since the tournament’s inception in 1990. Will this year be the year Finland breaks this record on home ice?
  • With 2018 being an Olympic year, the World Championship hasn’t been played since 2017 when Team USA took gold on home ice after they had planned to boycott the tournament during their negotiations with USA Hockey.
  • Team USA has won the last four World Championships.






[adrotate group=”1″]

Previous Post
The Québécoises of the Connecticut Whale
Next Post
Ambassador Spotlight: Cassi Weiss | Minneapolis, MN

[adrotate group=”2″]