Sauce Us a Follow

45 players selected to compete for Canada, United States, World teams

Tickets now on sale for January 29 showcase, presented by Air Canada and Sailun Tire

BOSTON, MA – (January 17, 2023) – The Premier Hockey Federation (PHF) has announced its 2023 All-Star rosters for the showcase event on Sunday, January 29 in Toronto, Ontario. A total of 45 players have been selected and divided into three teams consisting of 15 American, Canadian, and International talents who will play for national pride in a round-robin competition and championship. The action begins at 7:00 p.m. ET at Mattamy Athletic Centre and will broadcast live across the United States on ESPN2 and in Canada on TSN,, and the TSN app.

“This season’s All-Star event is a true showcase of our player pool depth that includes an influx of new talent from both sides of the border and overseas, national team players, recent U SPORTS and NCAA standouts, and veterans who have helped build the PHF from the very beginning,” said Reagan Carey, PHF Commissioner. “The players who have been selected are all extremely deserving of this honor and highly motivated to represent their countries and this new PHF era on the All-Star stage, which should make for a competitive and entertaining weekend of hockey.”

Among the 45 selections are 24 PHF newcomers, headlined by top scorers Loren Gabel of the Boston Pride and Brittany Howard of the Toronto Six. Boston’s Élizabeth Giguère and Corinne Schroeder are also included among a talented group of first-year pros like Natalie Snodgrass of the Minnesota Whitecaps and Jade Downie-Landry of the Montreal Force who are making immediate impacts in the PHF after successful college careers.

There are 17 PHF veterans with previous All-Star experience competing in this event including Madison Packer of the Metropolitan Riveters who will be making a record sixth All-Star appearance. Boston’s Jillian Dempsey and Kaleigh Fratkin have both been named All-Stars for a fifth time after winning the 2022 showcase together and alongside Buffalo’s Dominique Kremer and Connecticut’s Kennedy Marchment who are both named for the second-straight season. Four players with previous PHF experience are also playing in their first All-Star game including Toronto’s Kati TabinSaroya TinkerTereza Vanišová, and Minnesota’s Denisa Křížová.

Fans will see 25 All-Stars who have senior national team experience including all 15 players on the international squad that brings together talent representing Austria, China, Czechia, Finland, Hungary, and Sweden. Křížová, Toronto’s Dominika Lásková, Connecticut’s Kateřina Mrázová, and Boston’s Aneta Tejralová all won bronze at the 2022 IIHF Women’s World Championship. Montreal’s Ann-Sophie Bettez also has a World Championship bronze when Team Canada won in 2019, while the United States roster features 2018 Olympic gold medalists in Boston’s Kali Flanagan, Minnesota’s Sidney Morin, and the Riveters’ Amanda Pelkey.

The Pride and Riveters lead the way with nine players named to the rosters, followed by T6 with eight, six Whitecaps, five Whale, and four members of the Force and Beauts. All-Stars were selected by the league in consultation with staff from all PHF teams. Coaches will be announced at a later date, as will team captains once voted upon by the players.


*denotes the number of previous All-Star accolades
^PHF returnee named to first All-Star game


Kelly Babstock (MET)**
Ann-Sophie Bettez (MON)
Sarah Bujold (MET)
Catherine Daoust (MON)
Jade Downie-Landry (MON)
Kaleigh Fratkin (BOS)****
Loren Gabel (BOS)
Élizabeth Giguère (BOS)
Mikyla Grant-Mentis (BUF)*
Brittany Howard (TOR)
Kennedy Marchment (CTW)*
Kati Tabin (TOR)^
Saroya Tinker (TOR)^
Emma Woods (TOR)*

Corinne Schroeder (BOS)


Jonna Albers (MIN)***
Sydney Brodt (MIN)
Shiann Darkangelo (TOR)***
Jillian Dempsey (BOS)****
Kali Flanagan (BOS)*
Taylor Girard (CTW)*
Dominique Kremer (BUF)*
Patti Marshall (MIN)*
Sidney Morin (MIN)
Madison Packer (MET)*****
Amanda Pelkey (MET)**
Natalie Snodgrass (MIN)
Allie Thunstrom (BOS)***
Olivia Zafuto (BOS)

Abbie Ives (CTW)*



Taylor Baker (MON/HUN)
Ebba Berglund (MET/SWE)
Fanni Gasparics (MET/HUN)
Anna Kilponen (MET/FIN)
Denisa Křížová (MIN/CZE)^
Dominika Lásková (TOR/CZE)
Leah Lum (TOR/CHN)
Antonia Matzka (BUF/AUT)
Kateřina Mrázová (CTW/CZE)*
Emma Nuutinen (BUF/FIN)
Lenka Serdar (CTW/CZE)
Aneta Tejralová (BOS/CZE)
Minttu Tuominen (MET/FIN)
Tereza Vanišová (TOR/CZE)^

Eveliina Mäkinen (MET/FIN)

Team Canada will take on Team USA to start the three-game round-robin. The winner will play Team World in the second game, while the losing team will face Team World in game three. Each round-robin game will consist of two seven-minute periods of stoppage time played four-on-four. A one-round shootout will take place between periods, providing both teams the opportunity to add a bonus goal to their score. If round-robin games are tied after both periods, a three-round shootout will be used to determine a winner. The championship game will feature the top two teams following the three-game round-robin. If all three teams hold 1-1 records, the top two teams will be determined by goal differential. The final will consist of two eight-minute periods of stoppage time played four-on-four to crown the All-Star champion. If tied, a four-minute three-on-three overtime will be played, followed by a three-round shootout to declare a winner if necessary. 

Tickets are now on sale and can be purchased online via TicketMaster for $29.50 including taxes and processing fees. The 2023 PHF All-Star Weekend is presented by Air Canada and Sailun Tire.

About the Premier Hockey Federation

The PHF is the home of professional women’s hockey in North America. Established in 2015 as the National Women’s Hockey League, the NWHL rebranded to become the PHF in 2021 and provide opportunities for elite athletes to earn a living playing the game they love while fueling the continued growth of the sport. The league is made up of the Boston Pride, Buffalo Beauts, Connecticut Whale, Metropolitan Riveters, Minnesota Whitecaps, Montreal Force, and the Toronto Six who all compete annually for the Isobel Cup. As part of a two-year agreement with ESPN, live coverage of the 2022-23 and 2023-24 PHF seasons is available exclusively on ESPN+ in the United States and provides international rights for games which include TSN in Canada. For more information visit

Around the RinkLeaguesLocker TalkNCAA D1NWHLPHFProU SPORTS
In this article: #2023, #All-Star, #ESPN, #NCAA, #PHF, #ProHockey, #Showcase, #TSN, #USports, #WomenInSport, #Womenshockey, grow the game, Hockey
Previous Post
Brittany Howard reaches new heights with Toronto Six
Next Post
Local collaboration between the PHF’s Boston Pride & Dorchester Brewing Company calls for a cheers