CWHL Honours Best of Regular Season at 2015 CWHL Awards Gala

MARKHAM, Ont. – The Canadian Women’s Hockey League is ecstatic to congratulate those honoured at the 2015 CWHL Awards Gala, presented by the Insurance Bureau of Canada and held Wednesday night at the Hilton Toronto-Markham Suites Conference Centre.

The special event is held annually to recognize the best of the CWHL season, and to help kick off the Clarkson Cup, awarded annually to the team that wins the league championship tournament.  The 2015 Clarkson Cup kicked off Wednesday and runs through Sunday at the Centennial Arena in Markham.
The 2015 CWHL Awards Gala winners are as follows:
Humanitarian Award – Lois Mitchell (CWHL Governor and Order of Canada member)
Coach of the Year  – Dany Brunet (Montreal Stars head coach)
Rookie of the Year – Brianna Decker (Boston Blades forward with 32 points in 12 games)
Goaltender of the Year – Charline Labonté (Montreal Stars goaltender with 1.89 goals against average and .927 save percentage)
Defenceman of the Year – Tara Watchorn (Boston Blades blue-liner with 20 points in 21 games)
Angela James Bowl – Rebecca Johnston (Calgary Inferno forward with 37 points in 24 games)
Most Valuable Player – Rebecca Johnston (two-time Olympic gold medallist)
Chairman’s trophy – Boston Blades (regular season champions with 35 points)
“We are so incredibly proud of all of our award winners, but also of each and every player, coach, sponsor, supporter and volunteer who has helped build our league into what it is today,” CWHL commissioner Brenda Andress said. “Our organization continues to get bigger and better, both on and off the ice, thanks to everyone involved.”
The top four teams from the 2014-15 CWHL regular season advanced to the 2015 Clarkson Cup, with the Boston Blades claiming first, the Calgary Inferno snagging second, the Montreal Stars taking third and the Toronto Furies finishing in fourth place.
The Toronto Furies are defending champions of the Clarkson Cup, which was named after former Governor General of Canada Adrienne Clarkson. The Boston Blades claimed the cup two years ago, the Montreal Stars are three-time champions, while the Calgary Inferno are vying for their first-ever CWHL championship title.
Ticket packages to all tournament games are available for $90 each, and include five to seven games over the course of the event, depending on playoff results. Single-game tickets are $20 for playoffs, and $25 for the final March 7 match-up.
This season the CWHL has changed the format of the Clarkson Cup, with the first-place Boston Blades facing off against the fourth-place Toronto Furies, and the second-place Montreal Stars taking on the third-place Calgary Inferno, in two separate best-of-three playoff series.
The winners of the playoff series will hit the ice for the Clarkson Cup final face-off at 2 p.m. ET on Saturday, with the game for this year’s CWHL bragging rights airing live on Rogers Sportsnet. Sportsnet will also broadcast both playoff games Thursday.
For interview requests, please contact media manager Kristen Lipscombe at or (902) 579-5747.
For more information, please visit,  follow the CWHL on Twitter at and Instagram at, and "like" our fan page on Facebook at
About the Clarkson Cup: First awarded in 2006 to Canada’s National Women’s Team, the Clarkson Cup was commissioned by the Right Honorable Madame Adrienne Clarkson, former Governor General of Canada. Her dream was to create a trophy that would be played for by North America’s top women’s hockey club teams. It was first awarded in 2008 to that year’s CWHL champions, the Montreal Stars. Since then, it has become a coveted prize for all female players and is widely regarded as the ultimate achievement in our game. In 2013, the Clarkson Cup was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame.
About the Canadian Women's Hockey League (CWHL)
The CWHL is the premier, professionally-run women's hockey league in the world. It enables elite female hockey players to pursue their dreams of competing at the highest level possible, while enhancing the lives of others through exceptional athleticism, entertainment and motivation. The league is centrally funded, with all participating teams in the CWHL receiving equal access to financial support and given the same opportunities to succeed. The CWHL is a not-for-profit organization, with every dollar going towards building a league that is dedicated to raising the profile of women's hockey, providing a place for the best female players in the world to compete and inspiring the next generation of female hockey heroines.
For more information, please contact:
CWHL Commissioner Brenda Andress

(647) 278-6515


In order to leave a comment, you must be logged in.

Please login or click here to register.
  • About Us

    WomensHockeyLife provides what we feel is a much needed information resource for all who are interested in participating in the sport at every level - recreational, university, professional (post university) and for those who are doing it now, or have enjoyed it in the past.

  • Contact Us

    Mailing Information

    Womens Hockey Life Ltd.
    Ottawa, ON, Canada

  • Twitter